Peanut Butter & Banana Sandwich

by Martina Poletti

Hi, today I want to talk about one of my favourite brekfast: peanut butter and banana sandwich! 

Let’s start with peanut butter… Well, what can I say? My friends know that I am addicted to it 😛 I have a little story on how I fell in love with this creamy nut spread. I tried it for the first day during a summer vacation in NY and I thought it was disgusting…how could they spread peanuts on bread and even put jam on it? WTF? Now I know that my reaction was due to the fact I was expecting to taste butter, instead of just nuts. However, there is NO butter in peanut butter (despite the name :/). In fact, I used to make it at home by just grounding peanuts with an electric mixer until I obtained a creamy texture… done!

I literally eat it everyday. I like the version with 100% peanuts and I found one here (in Albert Hejn for the Wageningen friends) for less than 2 €, which is a great deal considering that the avarage price in Italy would be 3-4 € a jar.

image

 

Peanut butter and banana is the best combination ever and you absolutely have to try! When combined, they give me the right amount of energy to go through my morning and keep me full until lunch time.

For the recipe I use:

– 2 slices of wholegrain bread

– 1 ripe banana

– 1 tablespoon of peanut butter

– a sprinkle of cinnamon

Instructions: I just toast the bread and spread peanut butter of both sides. Then, I cut my banana in slices, and place them on top of peanut butter, spread cinnamon all over and finally close my sandwich.

Half a sandwich would also a perfect ready-to-go snack for the university!

image

 

If you think that a sandwich is too heavy for you, you can opt for a banana penut butter roll, like this one in the picture below.

You can make by using a whole wheat tortilla, on top of which you can spread peanut butter. You can then add a whole banana make the roll.

image

 

Another option is to make a banana peanut butter oatmeal by adding half a tablespoon of peanut butter to your reguar oatmeal and slice your banana on top, to give a slightly sweet taste to it. You can even top them with walnuts for an extra boost!

image

 

I’ll leave you with these lovely pictures of the autumn colors around the university.

I hope you enjoyed my post… don’t hesitate to post some comments below! Enjoy your breakfast 🙂

image

 

Read more at Learn Sing Eat Travel Laugh

Leave a Reply

